Go to content

Main menu:

The United Arab Emirates

The United Arab Emirates is a Middle-East country situated in the southeast of the Arabian Peninsula in Western Asia on the Persian Gulf. It is bordered by Oman and Saudi Arabia, and the Persian Gulf. The state shares maritime borders with Iraq, Kuwait, Bahrain, Qatar, and Iran. The United Arab Emirates is a middle-east country with an area of 32,278 square miles. It has an estimated population of 8,264,070. The country has an average life expectancy of seventy-five years.The United Arab Emirates is a federation divided into seven emirates. Each emirate is governed by a hereditary emir. The seven emirates are: Abu Dhabi, Ajman, Dubai, Fujairah, Ras al-Khaimah, Sharjah, and Umm al-Quwain. Abu Dhabi is the most populated Emirate.
The United Arab Emirates has a federal presidential system and is a constitutional monarchy.
President - Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan
Vice President and Prime Minister - Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum
The dirham denoted by the ISO 4217 code AED is the official currency of the United Arab Emirates. It is normally abbreviated as DH or Dhs. The dirham is subdivided into 100 fils. It was adopted as the national currency in December 1971, replacing the Qatar and Dubai riyal.


click HERE to Visit MAHABros-The Recipe Page

The Labour law is a federal legislation applicable to all emirates of the UAE, enforced by the Ministry of Labour and Social Affair, with litigations adjudicated by the Federal and Local Courts of the UAE. The Labour Law in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) is applicable to all staff and employees working in the UAE, irrespective of whether they are UAE nationals or expatriates. However, few categories as mentioned below have been exempted from its applicability.

UAE has their own General Directorate of Residence and Foreigners Affairs  to take care of immigration, visa, and entry permit related issues; search for and apprehend overstayers and illegal immigrants. Most residents of the UAE are not immigrants in the normal sense of the word (meaning those wishing to move to a country, settle there, and obtain citizenship of that country), but resident expatriates with a UAE residence visa (or permit) that allows them to live in the UAE for a period of 2 or 3 years between renewals, sometimes 1 year.


Since 1833 the reigning Al Maktoum family have ruled Dubai. Under their wise and progressive leadership Dubai has prospered and it is now the business and tourism hub for a region that stretches from Egypt to the Indian sub-continent, and from South Africa to the CIS countries.
The eighth ruler from the Al Maktoum family, the late His Highness Sheikh Rashid bin Saeed Al Maktoum, ruler of Dubai from 1958 – 1990, guided the Emirate with compassion and understanding. He realized what was necessary to transform Dubai into the cosmopolitan, prosperous city it is today. Sheikh Rashid along with Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan, is credited with playing a key role in establishing the federation of the United Arab Emirates.
Following the death of Sheikh Rashid in November 1990, Sheikh Maktoum Bin Rashid Al Maktoum became Ruler of Dubai and Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE, positions he held until he passed away in January 2006.
On January 4th 2006, His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum became the Ruler of Dubai following the death of Sheikh Maktoum bin Rashid Al Maktoum. Under his leadership Dubai is fast becoming one of the major cities in the world. His Highness Sheikh Mohammed is also the Vice-President and Prime Minister of the UAE.

Contact Us
Back to content | Back to main menu